Home » Fitness » Louisiana Quarter Marathon 2016

Louisiana Quarter Marathon 2016

signLast Saturday I participated in the Louisiana Marathon weekend for the third consecutive year. This event is a 3-day, Louisiana-themed running festival in downtown Baton Rouge. Friday was the running expo and packet pickup at the River Center; Saturday was the 5K, quarter, and kid’s marathon, and Sunday was the half and full marathon.

I registered myself, my mom, and my brother Jacob for the quarter marathon (6.5 miles). The company my dad worked for is a race sponsor, and they cover the registration fees for employee and retirees’ immediate family. Not only did they cover our registration, but the funds went to a great cause–the International Rett Syndrome Foundation.

crowd

Behind the starting line!

Friday afternoon I headed to the River Center to pick up our race gear. While there, I bought some sport headphones, donated a half teaspoon of blood for stem cell research, and grabbed free samples of anything edible I could find.

Saturday morning Mom, Jacob, and I arrived downtown an hour early and did some stretching. At 7:50, we wiggled our way to the middle of the crowd behind the starting line. I don’t know how many runners were in that crowd, but with the 5K and quarter marathon groups combined, it was in the thousands. In fact, registration for all Louisiana Marathon race distances had sold out!

20160116_093910

A post-race pic with Mom and the Louisiana State Capitol!

When the clock hit 8 a.m., we were off. I immediately lost Mom and Jacob in the crowd. My first two miles were slow because I was pacing myself and also weaving around people. Once the 5K runners turned around, the course became less crowded and I was able to run at a steady pace of about 9 minutes a mile. Cheering spectators and volunteers along the route kept me motivated (they’re the best!).

I crossed the finish line with a time of 1:02. My best 10K time is under an hour, but considering I took most of the last year off from running, I was happy and proud of my accomplishment! Besides, it’s not about how fast you run or how you place; it’s about doing your best and giving it 110%.

P1040592

Mom and Jacob with their medals!

Jacob finished 10 minutes faster than me, and Mom finished 15 minutes after me. We were all happy with our times, and next year we plan to do the 5K and the half marathon. We retrieved my chihuahua Stu, who had been waiting in the car, and headed to the finish festival. There were some great bands playing, the sky was blue, the temperature rose into the 70’s…I can’t imagine a more perfect afternoon.

Several restaurant vendors came out to the Rendevous, and my post-race meal included: Core Power milk, gumbo, pulled pork sliders, Abita strawberry beer, and seafood pasta. It was amazing.

Here are more pictures from our day. I can’t wait to do it again next year!

Leave a Reply

