Home » Fitness » My running playlist

My running playlist

I love music. I love singing when no one’s listening, strumming the guitar that I’m slowly learning to play, and watching countless covers of my favorite songs on YouTube. One of my favorite things about running is that it gives me an opportunity to listen to my music with no interruptions.

Many days music is my main motivation for running–running is hard, but listening to music is fun! The right songs will make you want to get up and move, and they also help you find your rhythm. For races, you can create a playlist that is five to ten minutes shorter than your goal time. That way, when the songs stop playing, you know you don’t have much time left to reach the finish line (a.k.a. pick up the pace!).

Here’s the playlist I’ve created for the Louisiana Quarter Marathon in two weeks:

  1. Stereo Love (Edward Maya)
  2. Naughty Boy  (La La La ft. Sam Smith)
  3. Sorry (Justin Bieber)
  4. All I Ever Wanted (Basshunter)
  5. Latch (Dislosure ft. Sam Smith)
  6. Zero (Chris Brown)
  7. Beautiful (Akon)
  8. Crazy (Kat Dahlia)
  9. Call On Me (Eric Prydz)
  10. How Deep is Your Love (Calvin Harris & Disciples)
  11. Levels (Nick Jonas)
  12. Applause (Lady Gaga)
  13. I Need Your Love (Calvin Harris ft. Ellie Goulding)
  14. Survivor (Destiny’s Child)

It’s a very random mix, but it keeps me moving. This playlist lasts about 50 minutes, and my goal is to finish in under an hour. If I don’t hit my goal, I’ll have another chance a month later at the Mardi Gras Mambo 10K. I’m ridiculously excited for this race!

4 thoughts on “My running playlist

Leave a Reply

