Home » Health and wellness » Getting healthy skin

Getting healthy skin

Last week I did something I should have done a long time ago–went to see my dermatologist. I hadn’t been since high school, back when my skin was quite problematic. Now, in my 20s, I’m battling acne once again. I’ve tried the over-the-counter washes, creams, and toners, as well as the natural remedies like honey masks (it makes your face smell nice, but it doesn’t really work). Even though going to the doctor is expensive, it turned out to be a worthy investment.

My dermatologist gave me an antibiotic along with an antibacterial topical ointment to use during the day. She also recommended a retinol creme at nighttime. I stopped breaking out the first day I started the antibiotics. I couldn’t afford the prescription retinol, so I ended up buying Neutrogena’s overnight tone repair product, which contains retinol and vitamin C. It has excellent reviews and only costs $20 a bottle (which is cheap compared to department store and prescription retinols!). It’s too soon for me to say whether this product works, but from what I’ve read, retinol is a great addition to your beauty routine whether you have any acne, wrinkles, discoloration, uneven skin tone, or just want to prevent these things. This article from Dr. Oz’s website even recommends using retinol as early as your teens to maintain young-looking skin throughout life:

http://www.doctoroz.com/article/retinol-results

The article does warn that it may take months to see results. In skincare (as well as other aspects of health), there are rarely miraculous overnight results. It’s better to  go straight to the professionals–like my awesome dermatologist–than pinning your hopes on the countless products lining the shelves. Whether it’s your weight, a skin condition, or some other ailment you’ve been struggling with for years, there’s no time like the present to get help.

Leave a Reply

