Home » Fitness » I Love Zumba

I Love Zumba

I’m not a huge fan of treadmills. Scenic running paths on sunny mornings are the reason I fell in love with running in the first place. However, summertime in south Louisiana is brutal, and even if you get an early start or go out right before sundown, running outdoors is quite a challenge. So this summer, I’ve been mixing up my workouts to stay in shape while staying out of the sun.

Zumba has become my new favorite workout. I never thought of myself as a Zumba-doing kind of person, so It was a serendipitous discovery. I was running on the indoor track one night at my gym as the ladies were dancing. I finished my run and while waiting on my mom to finish her run, something possessed me to go downstairs and join in. I cracked up as we did “the wobble” (I had no idea what this was!) and then we proceeded to dance to “Hips Don’t Lie”. Who would have thought that dancing around the gym to Shakira would be so fun? It’s actually a great workout too. You’re moving non-stop for a solid hour. That can certainly help build endurance for running events. 

Zumba is fun, but for a more intense workout I go to kickboxing class. I always have muscle soreness (the good kind!) after kickboxing. The workout includes weights, planks, push-ups, and–of course–lots of kicking and punching. We also workout to music, which makes it fun.

Running on treadmills is necessary when it’s 90 degrees outside, but switching up my workouts has helped me stay motivated and not get burnt out. 

Leave a Reply

