Home » Reflections » New Year Resolutions

New Year Resolutions

I love the idea of new year resolutions. Although many statistics show that people don’t stick to their resolutions past, let’s say, the month of January, it’s that motivation that a new year brings that can lead to positive habit and lifestyle changes.

I had a few resolutions last year, and they didn’t all work out. But that’s okay. I like to think that everything happens for a reason, so when I don’t get what I want, I can’t get too disappointed. God has a plan for me and will send me the people and opportunities I need exactly when I’m ready for them. I hope others can find as much comfort in that idea as I do.

I was looking through all the pictures on my digital camera and realized that I’ve been lucky to do a lot of travelling in 2013. I went on road trips to Michigan, Florida, and Tenessee. In my home state, I spent time in Shreveport, Alexandria, Baton Rouge, New Orleans, and other cities. I was also lucky to have the opportunity to go on lots of hikes, compete in a triathlon and half-marathon; I got paid to write, involved at church, and spent a lot of time with family. It was a good year.

For 2014, I hope to start a new adventure, whether it be pursuing another degree, moving somewhere new, a new relationship… who knows! I want to continue the healthy lifestyle I’ve established from new year’s resolutions past, and focus on my new fitness goal of taking on a marathon (training begins as I get over a pesky cold I caught over the holidays). And I’ll continue to focus on becoming more compassionate, transparent, and understanding person, along with my Just Faith family (for which we have a stack of thought-provoking books, plans for volunteering, and a visit to a prison in the near future).

Best of luck with your own resolutions 🙂

One thought on “New Year Resolutions

Leave a Reply

