Home » Reflections » You don’t know you’re beautiful. Or do you..?

You don’t know you’re beautiful. Or do you..?

We’ve all heard the One Direction song that goes “You don’t know you’re beautiful…that’s what makes you beautiful.” This song was a huge hit, and I think it’s because a lot of girls relate to the lyrics. They like to think of themselves as the girl in the song; they want guys to think they’re beautiful, even if they can’t see the beauty in themselves. Every girl wants to be told she’s beautiful, especially since many of us are insecure about our looks. Makes sense.

But, ladies, are we insecure? Or could it be the opposite? There is a girl I follow on Instagram who constantly posts “selfies.” She looks nice in all of these pictures, even the ones with hashtag-no-filter or hashtag-no-makeup. Oh, whatever! In every picture, her hair is shiny, her skin is flawless, she has a nice outfit on, and she looks cute (let’s be honest, no girl would post a picture of herself on the internet if she didn’t look cute in it). Well the other day I was strolling through the grocery store and did a double take when I saw this Insta-girl down the aisle. Unlike the person represented on her Instagram account, she looked twice her age, was wearing sweatpants, hair in a messy bun…the girl looked a hot mess!

I couldn’t help but wonder on my way home from the store: why does this girl post so many pictures of herself online but obviously doesn’t take time to look presentable in, um…real life? Is it that she’s conceited and wants to show off when she looks good? Or is she so insecure that she feels the need to portray herself as this gorgeous person to her social network?

  • Disclaimer: I’m not saying this particular girl isn’t pretty, because she is, very much so…but her online image did not match the way she looked in person. I personally think that every girl/lady/woman is beautiful in her own unique way. 🙂

I realized that I am the same way to an extent. I wouldn’t put an unflattering picture of myself online. But I do resist the urge to post selfies. It really is obnoxious and it only tells people that you’re narcissistic and over-confident. Or under-confident and in need of a few “likes” to boost your ego. If a girl posts a selfie more frequently than once a week, I start to wonder about her. In my opinion, this whole trend is a result of my generation’s odd combination of insecurity and narcissism.  

So I decided to change my Facebook profile picture to a picture that looks like the everyday me–not some dolled-up, filtered version of myself. It’s a post-race pic from my most recent 5K, and I look less than perfect. I’m okay with that. My hair is pulled back in a messy ponytail, I have very minimal makeup, running clothes, and of course I’m drenched in sweat. I’m a runner, that’s how I normally look. I won’t get all made-up and edit pictures of myself to convince the world I look like a model, but I also don’t need some boy band to sing me a song about how I’m turning heads when I walk through the door. Thanks for the sentiment, One Direction, but I’m good.

3 thoughts on “You don’t know you’re beautiful. Or do you..?

  1. First of all you are a stunning young woman. You need to be you. You can run a 5K. That is much more impressive than waisting your time on looking what others think makes you attractive.

    • Why thank you! I’ve always thought the prettiest girls are those who have true inner beauty and interesting personalities, not the sorority girls who all look and dress alike.

      • The beauty of a woman has nothing to do with how she looks. Keep this in mind. When you lay your head on the pillow at night you have to live with you. Others can have all this wisdom for you but they don’t have to live with the choices you make only you do. You write so well. In the “about” thing on my blog its very clear my policy on women. I always want my blog to be a place where women of all kinds can hit click and they know they will not be blindsided with garbage. We can have open and honest discussions on the issues that all kinds of women face in this culture without it going to the gutter. Its tough being a woman of any age in this culture. Take Care

Leave a Reply

