Home » Dating » The Nice Girl’s idea of a good time

The Nice Girl’s idea of a good time

I’m going to say something that may make me unpopular: the show Girls isn’t very good. As a post-college 22-year old, I’m supposed to closely relate to the show’s characters. But I don’t. Not all girls of my generation are sex-crazed, irresponsible, and spoiled (at least not me and my friends). Call me lame but I don’t drink, I don’t go to parties, and I’m ready and willing to take responsibility for myself. In response to this show, I’ve created a list of things I consider fun, none of which involve parties, clubs, sex, or alcohol. Maybe I’m just a nerd…but I have a feeling there are many girls out there who, like myself, are misrepresented by this offensive HBO series. Either way, I present to you the Nice Girl’s idea of a good time:

  1. Spending a cold, rainy afternoon hanging out in a coffee shop. Having an intelligent conversation, people-watching, reading the newspaper, working on your novel, blogging, etc.
  2. Going to the midnight premier of a movie. There’s something awesome about being the first person to see a movie. Plus, there’s a sort of morale that forms when that many movie-lovers are packed together in one theater.
  3. Redbox and a half-gallon of ice cream. It’s the cheapest date night ever.
  4. Running a 5K, then going out to brunch afterwards.
  5. Going to the dog park. It’s the happiest place on Earth.
  6. Going to the zoo. You’re never too old to go to the zoo.
  7. A trip to the farmer’s market. There are so many interesting arts and crafts there, not to mention the fresh produce. Sometimes they even have live entertainment. It’s the place to be on a Saturday morning.
  8. A picnic in the park (when it’s warm outside).
  9. Going to the town’s boardwalk/riverwalk and walking around–riding the carousel, shopping, getting gourmet cupcakes. I’ve spent many-a-Saturday doing just this.
  10. Taking a hike. No matter where you live, chances are you’re only a short road-trip away from a great hiking trail.
2 thoughts on “The Nice Girl’s idea of a good time

Leave a Reply

